Welcome to the Margins of Politics.

Over the last couple years, I’ve noticed more and more really high-quality blogs addressing issues in global politics. The first ones I came across were on Foreign Policy, then the collaborative project at The Duck of Minerva and some good blogs on the Council on Foreign Relations website, and finally lesser known outlets by graduate students and recent graduates. The conversation across different specialties, perspectives, geographies and platforms has been really eye-opening: Web 2.0 is alive and well in International Relations.

I’m jumping into the conversation. I expect it will take me a long time to get the hang of this, and I don’t expect to reach the stature of anyone who’s blog I currently read, but if nothing else this will help me articulate my ideas and force me to engage more deeply with global issues. I’m really excited about this new project.

A little about myself: I’m an undergraduate at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. I’m finishing up an Honours in Political Science and a Major in International Relations in May 2013. I spent the 2010-2011 school year on exchange at Sciences Po Paris. I’m really looking forward to writing my thesis next year, although I haven’t picked a topic yet. My research interests lie somewhere in-between power politics and French theory, strategic studies and critical social and political thought, but I’m trying to incorporate more economic and financial thinking into my studies as well.

At the Margins of Politics, you can expect to find my analysis of current events, ideas and sketches for my thesis, book (and article and blog) reviews, as well as anything else that seems relevant and that I can articulate my thoughts on.

If you want to get in touch with me, you can reach me at samsrowan [at] gmail [dot] com.

So welcome and let’s get started!

